Geistige Nachdenken‏ (Spiritual thoughts)

“To be known, the truth must be stated and the clearer and more complete the statement is, the better the opportunity will the Holy Ghost have for testifying to the souls of men that the work is true.” B.H. Roberts

“You cannot convert people beyond your own conversion.” James E. Faust

“It is true intelligence for a man to take a subject that is mysterious and great in itself, and to unfold and simplify it so that a child can understand it.” President John Taylor. 

“Wherefore, be not weary in well-doing, for ye are laying the foundation of a great work. And out of small things, proceedeth that which is great.” Doctrine and Covenants 64:33 This scripture really hit me at a time when I was really struggling to understand that the little things that I was doing actually mattered. But then to hear the Lord tell me that these things are really making a difference, I know that these things are true. And I find peace in those things. 
 
“The most important work you will ever do will be within your own home.” President Harold B. Lee

“I think that if God forgives us, we must forgive ourselves, otherwise it is almost like setting ourselves as a higher tribunal than Him.” C.S Lewis
C.S. Lewis always seems to know how to make me feel better about myself. I found this quote when I was having a hard time forgiveing myself for something stupid I’d done, something foolish, but something that was really holding me back. But that’s the wonderful thing about the Atonement. You don’t have to feel all that pain. He can take it away. You just have to ask.

“No wicked man could write such a book as this, and no good man would write it, unless it were true and he were commanded of God to do so.” George Cannon [speaking about the Book of Mormon] I really love this quote. It gives me chills every time I read it. 

“I want it absolutely clear when I stand before the judgement bar of God that I declared to the world that the Book of Mormon is true.” Jeffery R. Holland.

And last, I was reading, this morning, in Jesus the Christ and it was talking about the miracles and other such things, and I came across this quote that struck me to the very core:
“We cannot classify the Lord’s miracles as small and great, nor as easy and difficult of accomplishment; what one may consider the least, is, to another, of profound import. The Lord’s word was sufficient in every instance. To the wind and the waves, and to the demon-ridden mind of the man possessed, He had but to speak and be obeyed. ‘Peace, be still.'” Jesus the Christ James E. Talmage.
Leave a Reply

