Es Ist Gesund

Don’t worry that yesterday was the hottest day on earth and there’s no such thing as indoor cooling systems here in Austria.

I think I’m going to melt. 

Literally. 

It doesn’t get too hot temperature-wise, but it’s wet. Ugh! 

Anyway. 
Everytime we eat at a member’s house I always hear about how ‘healthy’ something is. I think if I have to hear the sentence, “Es ist Gesund'” one more time in my life, I’m going to poke myself in the face. Maybe it’s just the fact that I’m from America and in America we don’t care if something’s healthy or not, but I just don’t what to hear about it anymore. 

I just want to sit in the corner and eat my McDonald’s hamburger and fries and overly large drink and not be judged for it! 
But, you know how it goes.
This week we had a wonderful surprise! We got another baptismal date set! His name is Klaus and he’s from Austria and he’s somewhere in his sixties.
We contacted him because he has a cute dog that is one of the most adorable creatures ever. 
We set the date for his birthday 14 September. He’s secretly excited about it. He smokes like a wombat though, so it’s kind of gross, but we’ll work on that. 😀 
“For Behold the time cometh, and is not far distant, that with power, the Lord Omnipotent who reigneth, who was, and is from all eternity to all eternity, shall come down from Heaven among the children of men, and shall dwell in a tabernacle of clay, and shall go forth amongst men, working mighty miracles, such as healing the sick, raising the dead, causing the lame to walk, the blind to receive their sight, and the deaf to hear, and curing all manner of diseases.” -Mosiah 3:5

I love this scripture because it was written 124 years before Christ.

“And, lo, He shall suffer temptations, and pain of body, hunger, thirst, and fatigue, even more than man can suffer, execpt it be unto death, for behold, blood cometh from every pore, so great shall be His anguish for the wickedness and the abominations of His people.” -Mosiah 3:7

I love this scripture because it tells of everything that Christ will suffer because of His people. Just thinking aout the love that He has for me, that He was willing to, not only die for me, but to suffer for me. 
I didn’t realize until I was on my mission that the atonement was more than just suffering for our sins so we could return to the Father. 
Jesus Christ came to the earth so that He could suffer with us, so that He would know perfectly what we all went through. 
I’ve been really struggling with a few things these past few weeks and I’ve been kept afloat by the fact that Christ knows exactly what I’m going through. And that’s been a real comfort to me. 
He felt every blister on my feet, every sore muscle, every inch of pedal burn from my bike, every ounce of fear and confusion and hurt, and He knows perfectly how to succor me. 
I ran accross a note in my English scriptures a few months ago that had the definition of the word succor. The word succor literally means to run to the aid of. 
I just find that so beautiful. Christ is waiting to succor each and every one of us. He’s standing there, with His arms outstretched, waiting for us to call on him. 
Und ich lasse das in Namen Jesu Christi, Amen.
Love, Lillie
Leave a Reply

