Be Still My Soul

When you move to another country, there’s a lot of paper work that accumulates that you have to submit and make sure that you have everything in order to legally reside in that country. Moving from Austria to Germany wouldn’t seem like that big of a problem, seeing as how Austria is a lot more intense about the paperwork that they have you fill out. But it helps the most when you can remember what days the office for foreigners is open. 

We went to get Sister Armstrong Anmelded this Wednesday, on the other side of town, that takes about an hour to get to by strassenbahn/walking because of all of the construction. (the signs everywhere say that the future is in 49 days, and “Freu dich auf die 15 Dezember”, but I’m really frustrated about all of the strassenbahn changes. Right as I get to understand everything, the universe of Augsburg decides that it’s going to change EVERYTHING.) I unfortunately forgot that the office is ALWAYS closed on Wednesday. It doesn’t matter which European country you’re in, they are always closed on Wednesday. *facepalm* 

So then, on Thursday, we were back again in the office only to get an appointment for the 18th of November. 

Almost a month after the first time we went in. 

Well, that’ll be interesting to do in week 6 of the transfer. 

On Tuesday we were in Munich for our interviews with President Miles, which meant that I got to briefly see Sister Christianson, but that took quite a bit of time out of our week, even if it was really nice to talk to President Miles about life and missionary work. 

Well, the most exciting thing about this week is that… ich habe löschen in meine stieglen…schada schokolada. So, because I have holes in my boots, when it rains, I have to solve the problem by taping plastic bags to my feet before sticking them in my boots…yeah, that’s a lot of fun. 😀 
So today, I will be buying boots. 😀

Nothing else terribly besonderes about this week happened… just a lot of running around and doing a lot of random stuff, and not actually getting anything done…

We did change the time on Sunday, so we got a whole other hour of sleep Sunday morning. IT WAS SO NICE!!!!!!!!!

But the time is just going faster and faster, the nine month mark is coming up really fast and my 22nd birthday is following closely behind. Do I see some grey hairs? 😀

  1. 1. Be still, my soul: The Lord is on thy side;
    With patience bear thy cross of grief or pain.
    Leave to thy God to order and provide;
    In ev’ry change he faithful will remain.
    Be still, my soul: Thy best, thy heav’nly Friend
    Thru thorny ways leads to a joyful end.
  2. 2. Be still, my soul: Thy God doth undertake
    To guide the future as he has the past.
    Thy hope, thy confidence let nothing shake;
    All now mysterious shall be bright at last.
    Be still, my soul: The waves and winds still know
    His voice who ruled them while he dwelt below.
  3. 3. Be still, my soul: The hour is hast’ning on
    When we shall be forever with the Lord,
    When disappointment, grief, and fear are gone,
    Sorrow forgot, love’s purest joys restored.
    Be still, my soul: When change and tears are past,
    All safe and blessed we shall meet at last.

I read this hymn last night and I was just thinking about the beautiful promises the Lord gives us. I haven’t heard this song in a while because it isn’t in the German hymn book, which just so happens to be the only hymnal I thought to bring on my mission. 

But this hymn has carried me through some pretty difficult times in my life as I’ve thought about the lines that it contains. To know that the Lord is on my side and that everything really is possible through Him.  

One of the scriptures in this hymn is Psalms 37:3-9:

Trust in the Lord and do good; so shalt thou dwell in the land, and verily thou shalt be fed. 

Delight thyself also in the Lord; and He shall give thee the desires of thine heart.

Commit thy way unto the Lord; trust also in Him; and he shall bring it to pass. 

And He shall bring forth thy righteousness as the light, and thy judgement as the noonday.

Rest in the Lord and wait patiently for him; fret not thyself because of him who prospereth in his way because of the man who bringeth wicked devices to pass. 

Cease from anger, and forsake wrath: fret not thyself in any wise to do evil. 

For evildoers shall be cut off: but those that wait upon the Lord, they shall inherit the earth. 

 

I just feel that, if we’re doing all the things we should be, trusting in the Lord and remembering that He will watch out for us. Like He promises in Matthew:

“Are not two sparrows sold for a farthing? And one of them shall not fall on the ground without your Father.

“But the very hairs of your head are all numbered. 

“Fear ye not therefore, yea are of more value than many sparrows.”

 

 

I have no idea how many sparrows each one of us are worth, but I do know what it says in the Bible Dictionary under God: 

“Although God created all things and is the ruler of the universe, being omnipotent, omniscient, and omnipresent (through His Spirit), mankind has a special relationship to Him that differentiates man from all other created things: man is literally God’s offspring, made in His image, whereas all other things are but the work of His hand”

 

Remember, you’re a child who is loved by a wonderful Heavenly Father. He will watch after you, guide you, and lead you through even the darkest and most terrifying of nights.

Love you all!

Lillie

Leave a Reply

