The Scriptures Are Before You

Alma 13:20 “The Scriptures are before you.” 

I have made it a goal to read the standards works in their entirety on my mission. I have managed to read the Book of Mormon once and again, the Doctrine and Covenants, and I have read the gospels and I have finished the five books of Moses (that was a long process of banging my head against the table.) and the book of Joshua. 

I have come to realize what a great blessing it is, truly, to be able to read the scriptures, the letters the Lord has sent to us through His prophets. I may not understand everything that I read, nor do I understand why this information, of all the information compliled for thousands of years, that it was what survived, but I know that it is important. 

I do not understand all things, but I do know that the Lord loves His children. 

He loves us so much that He gave us the opportunity to live here, at this time, so that we can read those words, hear the words of a prophet today, live. What a blessing and a great opportunity that is. Think of how wonderfully blessed we are to live at this time. 

I imagine that we all did something rather besonderes to come here at this time when we were in the presence of God, to know that we would be able to live in a time when the fullness of the gospel and the priesthood authority were restored to the earth, yes, this is a special time indeed.

So, my challenge to you is this:

When you read your scriptures tonight, think about what the Lord is trying to tell you. Think about what He already has told you, and maybe email me/write me a letter, with your favorite scripture in it. ANd tell me why. 

I have too many to claim as a favorite, but two are these:

 James 2:19 “You believe in one God, and that is good, the devils believe also, and tremble.”

 Doctrine and Covenants 6:36 “Look unto Me in everythout, doubt not, fear not.”

I love you all, and I have not forgotten about anyone. I love you so much, and I’ll see you all in NINE MONTHS!!!

Love, LillieImage

Leave a Reply

