16th Stone Miracle Day

With this excitement for trying to baptize 290 people before the end of the year, there have been miracles popping up all over the place!

Last Sunday, in Ingolstadt, a branch in my district, the Elder’s investigator Victor was at church. They had met Victor in the summer while street contacting and he had come to church fairly regularly, but had made progress on and off but never really consistently. 

The Elders had been trying to set a baptismal date with him, but it never happened. He told the missionaries that when he was ready, he would tell them. I don’t think any of them expected that it would happen any time soon. 

But, on Sunday, Victor, in the middle of the sacrament, turned to Elder Niedens and pointed at Elder Wright (the Ehepaar) and said, “I want him to baptize me on Saturday. 
And so, on Saturday November 23rd, Victor was getauft in the Augsburg chapel to a small gathering of mostly missionaries. 

This was an amazing show of the faith that we had exercised to get these people baptized. 

But the miracles are not just restricted to others.

Last Sunday, during the fast, I asked the Lord to help us know who was ready by who came to church.
I was very disappointed because Frau Hasenauer had called us the night before and told us that she was sick, and I was traurig because I was convinced that she was ready, and she might still be, but this miracle doesn’t concern her. 
Because our investigator class is right before Sacrament meeting it’s not uncommon for us to head into Sacrament right before the bishop gets up to speak and to conduct the meeting. This week was that case. We came in late and sat down next to the Elder’s investigators and listened to the beginning of the meeting. The choir was singing for the intermediate hymn and Sister Armstrong and I participate in the choir.
And so, we got up to sing “Für der Berge Kraft” number 21 in the German hymn book. 
I stood next to Schwester B, the GML’s wife, and once the song was done and we were coming down from the podium she whispered to me out of the corner of her mouth, “Danielle ist heute gekommen!”
I was shocked! I don’t know if you remember me ever talking about Danielle, but she is a arbeitskolleigin from Schwester B. My very first Fireside (we have fireside every single Friday here in Augsburg) Danielle had been brought by Schwester B. Then we saw her twice in one day a week later, then she came with us to Munich with Schwester Bertele for a service project slash conference anschauen. Then, we didn’t hear much from her or about her for a couple of months.
BUT THEN SHE SPONTANEOUSLY CAME TO CHURCH ON SUNDAY!!!!
I was so excited! Especially when she was excited to see me, and when the Bertele’s invited us all over for dinner after church the next Sunday!
So then, Saturday night, I said to Sister Armstrong, tomorrow is going to be a 16th stone Miracle day! 
When she was confused I erklärt that it was like the Brother of Jared, he had sixteen stones and he didn’t see the literally hand of the Lord till the 16th. And I had seen 9 stone miracles, or maybe  14 stone miracles, but I didn’t feel like I had seen a 16th stone miracle on my mission. 
And so, I was determined to see that happen!
I was OVER THE MOON! when I realized that Danielle was sitting right up there in Sacrament meeting, the second week in a row, right next to Bruder B with Schwester B sitting up on the stand ready to give her talk. 
After the Sacrament meeting we went to Choir and Danielle came with!
Then we went to the wonderful Bertele’s home to eat and talk about…Bruder B’s craftiness with glass…
The conversation didn’t have any sort of opening for Gospel topics. No way that we could start to talk about the besonderes message that we have! We ate and talked about the rules of missionaries because that always seems to be a hot topic for people who don’t know what we do. And after we finished eating we headed back into the living room. 
I ran into the bathroom and while I was in there I started praying, “Heavenly Father, PLEASE! We need to make this into a spiritual thing! I think Danielle is ready to hear this gospel and to watch the Wiederherstellung! You just have to help me know when to say that we should watch the DVD!”
 I went back and sat down on the couch and Sister Armstrong took my place atop the porcelain throne and as she later told me, prayed her little curly headed heart out that we would be able to naturally transition into the gospel. She came back and sat on the couch and Schwester B sat down too!
That was where our opening came in! 
The B’s had been at the temple that week and they were talking about the besonderes experience that they’d had. We took that chance and ran with it like a little dog with a chicken wing. We talked about the restoration and Joseph Smith and the Book of Mormon and when we had the chance (the Bs are both very wonderfully talented individuals at talking) I pulled out the Wiederherstellung and said, “We actually have this DVD and it explains it ganz deutlich. Do you mind if we watch it?”
And we DID! AND IT WAS AWESOME!
The spirit was SO STRONG and the testimonies that we all gave convinced her that she wanted to hear more! It was so fantastic and I have never been more excited in my life! 
Ever since I met Danielle I could always imagine her in white, getting baptized, now I can see her and Bruder B in white, and him baptizing her! 
It was just so incredible and I definitely saw the Lord’s hand in on the 16th stone.
I know that this church is true and I KNOW that Joseph Smith saw Heavenly Father and the Lord Jesus Christ as two separate RESURRECTED beings. I know that Joseph Smith was a prophet and that through him the Church of Jesus Christ was restored in these latter days. It is the same church that was on the earth when Adam, Abraham, Moses, Joseph of Egypt, and Christ were on the earth in their respective lives. I know that Joseph Smith believed in these things and that he died because he remained so steadfast in that belief. I add my testimony to his and to countless others, be they small children, fathers, mothers, grandparents, brothers, Sisters, Prophets or apostles, living or long dead, new converts or long time converts, born in the church, or no, I stand with them. 
My testimony is one of millions, and on the other side of the veil, billions. 
I stand here, in this small corner of Germany with my testimony to proclaim the gospel, the good news of Jesus Christ to these people so they can experience the same joy that I have felt. 
I love you all, and I can feel your prayers of love and support. I am so grateful for the opportunity that I have to be a missionary for the Kirche Jesu Christi der Heiligen der Letzen-tage, and I am proud to wear the black name shield that boldy declares that I am a disciple of Jesus Christ. 
In the name of Jesus Christ Amen
Leave a Reply

