I’ll Be Home For Christmas. . .

…if only on your screen!

Well, the Christmas season is hopping here, we’ve had some interesting things happening here in Augsburg lately, some good, some not so good, but I’m over-all just really really happy. 😀

It’s an exciting time of year to be here, with the lights and the Christkindlmarkt and a really creepy Engelsspiel…but it’s been really fun. 
Tomorrow is Heilige Abend here in Germany, and we’re going to be at our GML’s house for dinner with the Elders. 

Last night we celebrated the fourth Advent, You’re supposed to light a candle on the first one, two on the second, three on the third, and four on the fourth, but we didn’t buy candles till last week so…all of our candles are of the same burndness…

We didn’t have a tree and we were talking about it with Teagan and Jasmine Winkworth and they suggested that we should make an origami Christmas tree (I’ve gotten very crafty with paper for thank you notes for people in the ward) and so last night we made one out of folded green paper hats. 

Sister Armstrong folded a hat out of construction paper and then took another sheet and cut it in half and then folded that into a hat and so on and so forth till we had 10 or so little paper hats stacked on top of each other. I then grabbed an empty toilet paper roll from the WC and put it under the paper hat tree. I then fashioned a star of David with yellow paper, double sided fabric tape, and a needle. Then we cleared off the table in our front room and put all of our gifts around our little tree:

A very missionary Christmas to you to! 😀
Image

I was just thinking about Christmas this week and I thought of the song I referenced above, I’ll be home for Christmas, if only in my dreams… This song was written by/for soldiers during the World Wars and many of them had been stationed in Germany. It was a song to their family members that were in the states a world away, with different cares and different struggles. 

I realize that though I’m not a soldier fighting for home and country on a battlefront or in a logistics bunker, but I’m a soldier of a different sort. 

I’m a soldier of a different kind, a soldier fighting for my beliefs and for the salvation of mankind. 

As a soldier I’ve sworn this time to defend, till the end, those things that I believe, the things that I  know  to be true. How grateful I am that I know  that the side I am fighting for will come off the conqueror. 

My battle may not be won with weapons of man, but the idea still remains. With the armor of God I cannot fall, and none who wear it will fall.

“Wherefore, lift up your hearts and rejoice, and gird up your loins, and take upon you my whole armor, that ye may be able to withstand the evil day, having done all, that ye may be able to stand.

“Stand, therefore, having your loins girt about with truth, having on the breastplate of righteousness, and your feet shod with the preparation of the gospel of peace, which I have sent mine angels to commit unto you;
“Taking the shield of faith wherewith ye shall be able to quench all the fiery darts of the wicked;
“And take the helmet of salvation, and the sword of my Spirit, which I will pour out upon you, and my word which I reveal unto you, and be agreed as touching all things whatsoever ye ask of me, and be faithful until I come, and ye shall be caught up, that where I am, ye shall be also. Amen.”

-D&C 27:15-18

My armor may not be readily apparent, but it gleams bright and true.
I hope that we all stand with the armor of God, and that we keep it bright and shining by polishing it with daily prayer and repairing any damage through daily scripture study, and that we strengthen it with weekly church attendance. 
This is God’s work, and I can testify to you that this is a war, and that we are fighting on the battle front of eternity for Eternal life and Salvation of mankind. I am a soldier in God’s army, I am fighting for a cause of great worth. My small testimony may be no more than the quick sound of a sword, echoing throughout the eternities, but I stand as a witness, ready and true, prepared to fight until the end. 
This is a war against a real being, a real person, our fallen brother Lucifer. If you have ever thought to yourself, he’s not real, I ask  you to think again. This battle we’re fighting is not just against the natural man, it is against a real being, who has real power. But his power is dependent upon us. If we choose to give him power, then he will have it, if we choose to deny him that power, than he will not be able to abide in us. 
It’s time to make your choice. Will you stand for the being that will grant you temporary pleasure, temporary victory for the things of this world, or will you stand for the Being that will always have power, whether we believe in Him or not?
I made my decision. Have you?

Lillie
Leave a Reply

