I’m Trying to Be Like Jesus

This week, Sister Armstrong and I went to work and we reaped the rewards in leaps and bounds! We got six investigator lessons, two less active lessons, and found several potentials. It was just an awesome week! We were both SO proud to show our progress record to the bishop and our GML this week in GMK. It was double sided and it was just really rewarding to show them the work that we had put into the week. 

It’s just so incredible that there’s so much of the Lord’s work to be done here in this little corner of Augsburg and it’s just so wonderful. I just was so grateful to see that the Lord does know what His children need and gives them the chance to accept the gospel and the lessons that we teach. They may not make progress as fast as we would like them to, but they are still being enlightened by the word of the Lord. I just think it’s so incredible to see their progress as they work through questions they have or as they develop a testimony of the Book of Mormon. It’s just a really unique experience and I’m so grateful that the Lord has given me a little glance into His work and His Glory.

This morning I read a talk by Elder Robert D. Hales, a talk from the 2011 November General Conference titled “Waiting on the Lord: Thy Will Be Done”. 

Elder Hales talked a lot about Christ’s sacrifice for us, and the fact that He exercised His agency in EVERY aspect of the Atonement. I think this part of Christ’s life is often easily overlooked. That Christ not only DID the will of the Father, but He WANTED to do the will of the Father. 

I feel that many times I view Christ’s sacrifice as something that He had to do, and in some ways He needed to do it, to save the entirety of mankind, to make the resurrection possible, but, I always seem to forget that Christ chose to do everything that He did. 

He chose to suffer, to die, not just because it was the will of the Father, but because it was His will too.

But as I was reading this I just kept thinking about my goal on this earth. Ultimately I want to be perfect, which I know will never happen, seeing as I am human, but there are steps that I can still take to get perhaps a little closer than I was before.

I really liked the assurance that Elder Hales gave in the middle of the talk: 
“Let us remember that as we wait upon the Lord, we are becoming saints through His atonement, … submissive, meek, humble, patient, full of love, willing to submit to all things which the Lord seeth fit to inflict upon us, even as a child doth submit to his father.”

We are becoming saints. This life is not a moment will determine your destiny life, it’s a process. A process of making decisions, a process of making mistakes, repenting and using the Atonement. This life is a process of becoming. 

Elder Hales concludes with “To hope and trust in the Lord requires faith, patience, humility, meekness, long-suffering, keeping the commandments, and enduring to the end.”

This life is hard, no one is going to deny that, and if they are, they’re lying to themselves. But the trick in this life is not to lose hope. Ether 12:4 promises us that when we have faith in the Lord then we can have hope for a better world and that this hope will serve as an anchor to us throughout our lives. 

We all need anchors in this stormy wind-tossed sea we call life. We can’t do it alone, and thankfully we don’t have to, because someone already did.

Christ trod the winepress alone, He walked the blood stained path of the road to Gethsemane and took upon Him OUR sins, OUR weaknesses, OUR troubles, OUR fears, OUR pains, so that we wouldn’t have to be alone. 

None of us will achieve perfection in this life, which is okay. But we should always be actively striving to be like Jesus Christ, because He is the perfect example that we should pattern our lives after. 

I really like the song, “I’m trying to be like Jesus” And I feel the words of the title are very poigniant. I’m trying to be like Jesus. I’m trying every day, and I imagine so are you. I guess that’s the idea to this life. If you keep trying every single day then it’s okay. It’s okay when you make a mistake, because we’re trying, we’re doing what we can to become like Jesus. 

I love you all! 
Lillie
Just when the caterpiller thought it was the end, it became a butterfly. 
Leave a Reply

