Light of Eye

This week was an interesting one, it started out with an adventure to the top of Germany, Zugspitze, where we proclaimed the word from the mountaintops:

Image

We also passed down the other side of the mountain briefly for a quick trip into my beloved Austria! Oh, how I missed it so much! 😀

But it was a great trip, one of the BEST P-days I’ve ever had. And it was all made possible by the wonderful Schwester M who drove us there AND paid for the way up, which we never would have been able to do without her. She really has done so much for us. It was because of her that we were able to go to Oktoberfest, and she had us over on Christmas and Silvester. She’s really an amazing person and is so generous and kind. We printed out a giant picture of the four of us on Zugspitze and put it in a frame to give to her. Hopefully she likes it. 😀

Tuesday we went to Munich for Zone Training, Wednesday we met with one of our Neu Bekehrts, Thursday was the day of fallen out appointments, Friday we were back in Munich for Zone Conference:

Image

(from left to right) Sister Christianson, Sister Kutschke, Sister Freimann, Sister Hammock, Sister Jaynes, Sister Armstrong, Sister Holman, Sister Ackerman.

Saturday we went off to Kaufbeuren to have a finding day and found the Elders several potentials, including a kid who took a book and who will meet with the Elders Tuesday night.

Sunday we got a new bishop, which was interesting to translate for. Especially with all of the sustainings. It was ward conference, so they did all of the sustainings of the church officers and such. Sister Armstrong was up when President Auras was offering the 12 apostles and she started repeating the names of the people and Brother Scott, aus Utah, turned back and gave us a funny look, because he could understand the names, which then sent us into a fit of laughter at the back of the chapel while they were sustaining the Lord’s special witnesses….

I’m sure God found some humor in it as well.

It was a difficult week, especially since we were only in our area for two days. We only got one lesson, and a lesson with a NB, but we did find 17 potentials. Our distrikt leader, when he called to get our numbers yesterday asked, “How’d you do that?”

This week in my Book of Mormon reading I’ve finally made it to Jesus! I reached 3rd Nephi (Let me tell you, the Book of Alma, in German, is over 200 pages long!) and I read about when Christ begins to teach the people and one scripture in particular struck me this past week:

“The light of the body is the eye; if, therefore, thine eye be single, thy whole body shall be full of light.” -3rd Nephi 13:22

I contemplated this scripture a bit, and I thought about moments in my mission when someone has told me to my face that my eyes are ‘bright’ or that they strahlen. I never understood why people felt this way, why they chose it say it, but I realized that when you are focused on Christ then the Light of Christ can work within you and it grows so large, that it’s impossible to contain it.
It wasn’t until then that I realized what everyone meant when they asked, “Have you received His image in your countenance?”
People realize that we’re different, even if you’re not a missionary, people recognize that you are something special because you have that light in your soul and it beams from within and touches those around you.
This light of Christ is the light of hope, peace, love, joy, & knowledge of God.
And as the scripture in 1 Peter says, “…be ready always to give an answer to every man that asketh you a reason for the hope that is in you…”
We all have something special inside of us, and we should be ready to share it with others. After all, a candle that shares it’s light with another loses nothing, but gains a friend.
I love you all and I am so grateful for your support! I feel your prayers and your love and I am so grateful for it!
Love, Lillie
Leave a Reply

