I Will Encircle Thee

Image
This last week ended with a wonderful ‘bang’ so zu sagen… The temple! It was so wonderful to be there on the grounds and to feel the spirit of it. It’s interesting how quickly you can forget the spirit that resides there when you haven’t even seen a temple in over a year. I consider myself very lucky that Sister Smith and I got to go. It also reminded me a bit like Utah, being there again (if you get my hint?).
It was just so nice to be there again and to feel the peace that I have desperately missed in my life. If you have a temple in your near, go to it. Don’t wait till next week or till you think you have time, go while you can because it is AMAZING!
Seriously, I would not miss that experience for anything!
I’ll tell you a little bit about the craziness of Saturday morning:
So, we were anticipating transfer calls, waiting to find out the fate of us here in Singen. A benefit of having the Zone Leaders in your area is that they call you first if you’re staying, and they tell you if you aren’t on their list. So, Saturday morning comes and Sister Smith and I are running around like crazy people, trying to function because we’re so nervous. And so, off on our run (yes, I go running every morning-not something any of you would have suspected from me, and it is probably a major factor in the 35 pound weight loss on my mission) we got a text message from the zone leaders saying, `We’ve made all our calls’. 
Sister Smith stopped running and started screaming, ‘What? Why?’
And immediately we called the elders.
Because we had been running Sister Smith was out of breath and the poor elders thought she was hyperventalating. Elder Garrett sounded really worried for her and told her that she didn’t need to worry, we were staying together, someone else just had to call us.
It was less than an hour later that President Miles called us and told us that we were staying together, but that we would be the Sister Training Leaders in the Frieburg Zone.
That was unexpected. So, we’ll just be going to a few more meetings and doing a couple more austausches this transfer, it’ll be fun, but it’ll also be fast! This five week transfer is going to fly by!
 
It was shortly after we received our call that we were rushing to get ready and get downstairs to where the Gurney’s were waiting for us to take us to the temple. And then we commenced the two and a half hour drive to Bern to the temple. While we were there, we saw a member from Sister Smith’s first area, Neumarkt, who recognized us both and told us that the 12 o’clock session would be new. We were so excited, pulled a few strings and made friends with a few very nice temple workers and we got in the session at noon. It was so interesting! I love the temple and I am so glad that I got the chance to go!
It was interesting being in the temple because there were some workers that didn’t speak German or English. I was spoken to in French and Italian and I had no idea what they were saying. The only thing I understood was when they came over to me and said, ‘Session?’ in their varied pronunciations.

But it was just so wonderful and so peaceful to be in the temple and to know that I was there and able to feel the love of the Lord. 

It was while we were sitting in the Bride’s room, waiting for our session to start, that I picked up a Book of Mormon and I read one of my favorite sections in the Doctrine and Covenants, section six. And a few verses stuck out to me greatly:

“Behold, thou art Oliver, and I have spoken unto thee becaues of thy desires; therefore treasure up these words in thy heart. Be faithful and diligent in keeping the commandments of God, and I will encircle thee in the arms of my love.
“Behold, I am Jesus Christ, the Son of God. I am the same that came unto mine own and mine own received me not. I am the light which shineth in darkness and the darkness comprehendeth it not. 
“Verily, verily, I say unto you, if you desire a further witness, cast your mind upon the night that you cried unto me in your heart, that you might know concerning the truth of these things. 
“Did I not speak peace to your mind concerning the matter? What greater witness can you have than from God?”
-D&C 6:20-23

I just love these verses! They were so wonderful to read and to put my name in the place of Oliver Cowdry. (You can also put your name in there too, in fact I would recommend it!)

I just think about all the times that I have searched for answers to questions and I’ve asked the Lord and there was no obvious answer. It’s always in reflection that I realize that I have received answers to the questions that I have, sometimes the answers don’t come in an overwhelming moment of BAM! That’s the truth, or YES! that’s the correct path. But instead I just see a lot of moments that the Lord has spoken peace to me and I have felt comforted. 
I feel that those are the most difficult answers to recognize. And sometimes it’s easy to become complacent in our lives and not ask for answers when we know we may only get a small answer like this one, but honestly, knowing that you have the Lord backing you up, having Him send angels on your right and on your left, that should be what keeps you praying. 
THe Lord wants to help us, he’s waiting to give us answers, we just have to ask!

I love you all!
Love,
Lillie
Leave a Reply

