Come to the Well

Well, it is HOT!!!! I’m sitting here cooking in the internet cafe. I am sitting in a puddle of my own sweat in this leather chair an it is humid. I’m just so grateful I’m not an Elder. One of the Elders was asked today if he was sweating because he was wearing long pants. Skirts are no fun in the winter, but I am so grateful for them in the summer! Rough Sailing Captian!
Yesterday we had the opportunity to watch a broadcast from Zollikofen (where the Bern temple is) at which Elder Niel A. Anderson and Präsident Dieter F. Uchtdorf spoke. The broadcast was to all of the Swiss Stakes and it was a great opportunity to listen to these apostles speak It was interesting because President Uchtdorf spoke in English, but his English sounded a little rougher and a little less polished as it usually does. After talking it over, Sister Smith and I came to the conclusion that he had been speaking in German and switching back into English must have been a little uncomfortable for him. But it was just incredible to see and to hear their words. And, at the end, we got to hear him speak a few words in German. His German is really one of the most beautiful things I’ve ever heard! True Hoch Deutsch, with absolutely no Dialekt. It was BEAUTIFUL!

This week I wanted to share one of my favorite songs with you. I consider myself lucky that my trainer, Sister Judd, at the beginning of my mission introduced Christian Rock to me. One song, and it’s description have stayed with me my whole mission.

The song is called ‘The Well’. It talks about how we run around looking for satisfaction in life, but never find it because the source they’ve chosen is of the world. They still thirst because their sources of water are physical and not spiritual. 

This song was inspired by the New Testament story of the woman at the well. The woman talked to the Savior and begged him to give her this water that He spoke of, water that would keep her from thirsting and would make her life a lot easier. But she, like a lot of us, misunderstood what well the Savior was talking about. When the Savior speaks of living water, He is talking about himself, the gospel, all good things that come from God. Those are the things that will keep us happy and keep us spiritually sound. I just think what the author of the song said is so interesting about the story of the woman at the well:

“This woman thought she was standing by a well and talking to a man, but really she was standing by a hole in the ground and talking to the Well.”

I have what you need,
But you keep on searchin,
I’ve done all the work,
But you keep on workin,
When you’re runnin on empty,
And you can’t find the remedy,
Just come to the well.

You can spend your whole life,
Chasin what’s missing,
But that empty inside,
It just ain’t gonna listen.
When nothing can satisfy,
And the world leaves you high and dry,
Just come to the well

And all who thirst will thirst no more,
And all who search will find what their souls long for,
The world will try, but it can never fill,
So leave it all behind, and come to the well

So bring me your heart
No matter how broken,
Just come as you are,
When your last prayer is spoken,
Just rest in my arms a while,
You’ll feel the change my child,
When you come to the well

And all who thirst will thirst no more,
And all who search will find what their souls long for,
The world will try, but it can never fill,
So leave it all behind, and come to the well

Leave it all behind

The world will try, but it can never fill… leave it all behind

And now that you’re full,
Of love beyond measure,
Your joy’s gonna flow,
Like a stream in the desert,
Soon all the world will see that living water is found in me,
Cuz you came to the well

And all who thirst will thirst no more,
And all who search will find what their souls long for,
The world will try, but it can never fill,
So leave it all behind, and come to the well

Casting Crowns

 

Sorry it’s so short! But I love you all! 

Love, Lillie

One thought on “Come to the Well

Leave a Reply

