We Are Sent

Transfer weeks are always really interesting. It involves a lot of running from member appointment to member appointment, saying goodbye, and then getting everything packed up and ready to go. Sister Smith and I left our apartment at 6:45 on Thursday morning to catch our train that left at 7:21. And, of course, it was a holiday, so we had to plan around that. We drove up to Stuttgart where I said goodbye to Sister Smith for three weeks and she continued her journey to Munich and eventually down to Graz. I stayed with the Stuttgart Sisters and worked with them for a few hours while I waited for Sister Henry to come on her train. It was really fun to work in Stuttgart, the people are really nice and it has a small town feel. I am still grateful I only worked in small towns. 

Sister Henry and I got home at about 9:30, we made the Elders come and take her stuff to our apartment, which is on the complete other side of town from where they live, but it was a holiday, so there were no busses.

We taught Erwin again this week, he’s making slow progress, but he’s progressing. He’s a funny guy, he’s really cleaned up since Benji told him to take a wash. This is Benji below. He’s the funniest Englishman I know! He’s great. One of my best friends on my mission. 

We took this picture at the Überlingen Finding Day where we gave out 30 Books of Mormon! How cool is that? (Unfortunately I couldn’t get the computer to recognize the picture.)

Image

Sister Henry and I in Stuttgart Bahnhof. 

For whosoever shall call upon the name of the Lord shall be saved.

“How then shall they call on him in whom they have not believed? and how shall they believe in him of whom they have not heard? and how shall they hear without a preacher?

“And how shall they preach, except they be sent? as it is written, How beautiful are the feet of them that preach the gospel of peace, and bring glad tidings of good things!” -Romans 10: 13-15

 

I read this scripture this morning and I thought it had a really great application to missionary work, because it’s talking about missionary work!

There are so many people in this world who have never even heard of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints before, and they have no idea what we believe, what makes us different, why we are indeed the true Church of the Living Christ. There are so many people who just need to learn about the gospel to accept it, and as missionaries, we have this wonderfully unique opportunity to do it full time. But there are still opportunities in every day life. All we have to do is look for them. The missionary opportunities we have may not necessarily come in the form of finding a non member family who is willing to hear about the gospel, but perhaps strengthening the neighbor that’s having a difficult time with their testimony.

 

A lot of times we misunderstand what it means to be ‘sent’ in our daily lives. Missionaries are ‘sent’ to specific areas of the world to teach people for a time, but members are ‘sent’ to specific wards, or to specific people to help those people in ways the Lord has planned. We just need to be sensitive and willing to listen to those promptings. I am so grateful that for this time I have been able to work where I have been sent, but I also know I’ll be getting a new call soon. I have to accept the fact that where the Lord sends me is where he wants me. After all, the work of the Lord goes on in all parts of the world. 

I love you all!

Lillie​

 

Leave a Reply

